The Appellate Term Second Department is comprised of two separate courts, authorized by Article 6, § 8 of the New York State Constitution and established by the Appellate Division. One court serves the 2nd, 11th and 13th Judicial Districts (Kings, Queens and Richmond Counties), and the other the 9th and 10th Judicial Districts (Nassau, Suffolk, Westchester, Rockland, Orange, Putnam and Dutchess Counties).

Each of the two Appellate Term benches consists of five Supreme Court justices serving pursuant to the appointment of the Chief Administrative Judge of the State of New York with the approval of the Presiding Justice of the Appellate Division, Second Department. The courts share a common non-judicial staff pursuant to 22 NYCRR §730.1(e).

The Appellate Terms hear appeals from the Civil and Criminal Courts in Kings, Queens and Richmond Counties in New York City, from the City and Justice Courts in the 9th & 10th Judicial Districts, and from the District Courts in Nassau and Suffolk Counties. The Appellate Term for the 9th & 10th Judicial Districts also hears civil appeals from the County Courts in those districts (with the exception of SORA cases).

Additionally, the Appellate Terms hear and determine motions, orders to show cause, and applications interposed pursuant to CPLR 5704 (b), most of which are emergency in nature and require immediate disposition. While serving the 10 counties comprising the Second Judicial Department, which covers urban, suburban and rural environments, the courts serve a diverse population of more than 10 million people (more than half of the population of the state) and are presented with a wide spectrum of legal issues.

Court Information:
Supreme Court of the State of New York
Appellate Term Second Judicial Department
141 Livingston Street
15th Floor Brooklyn, NY 11201
(347) 401-9580